Timeless humor

             One of the best Christmas presents I got this year was the gift of humor. For those of you that know me really well; you know I love to laugh. Any day with a good joke or a great chuckle can’t be all bad. So this year when I got the calendar counting down the remaining days of GW’s presidency; you had to know I was going to enjoy it.

            My favorite so far; “and there is distrust in Washington. I am surprised, frankly, at the amount of distrust that exists in this town. And I’m sorry it’s the case, and I’ll work hard to try to elevate it.”  So I got to thinking when he moves on to his next job as corporate spokesperson could anyone ever fill the void of man being so quoted for stupidity and misspeak? It took me about two seconds to be assured that some of those running for the office are going to be able to step right up should the opportunity be presented to them.     

             Huckabee said “I got into politics because I knew government didn’t have the real answers that the real answers lie in accepting Jesus Christ into our lives… I hope we answer the alarm clock and take this nation back for Christ.”  He needs to get a note about separation of Church and State sent to him! And running just as hard to get the job, Mitt Romney said “You can’t have freedom without religion, and you can’t have religion without freedom.” To that, I can imagine John Madden saying,   “Now there is a guy that must a played football without a helmet!”        

           Try as I could, I couldn’t find any of the Dems making such strange comments, and that is probably their biggest downfall yet. The old saying, “ you have got to crack some eggs to make an omelet,” means you got to take off the gloves and speak up. Playing it safe is not going to get any of them elected. Le’s hope they figure that out before its too late.     

           By the way it wasn’t a hard candy Christmas for the Cheney’s in case you were wondering. Dick Cheney Halliburton Stock rose 3000% in 2007. I doubt any of us did that well! For those of you that would like to see a list of the fifty most loathsome people in America this past year, click here.      

          Have a great New Year, and thank you all again for your support and comments. I wish you all the best in 2008 and look forward to commenting on it as it unfolds….besides, how could it not be a great year; its an election year!              

About grantman

Welcome to the Time Pieces. 299 word short essays on a variety of subjects as varied as free thinking will allow! All only 299 words long. Enjoy the archives and thank you for following and sharing my pieces with your friends... Grantman
This entry was posted in Time frames and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

